#11 Days Until Opening Day

With eleven days until Opening Day, let's look at uniform number 11.

  • 31 players have worn #11 as a member of the Yankees.

  • #11 is the lowest Yankees uniform number that has not been retired (1-10 are retired).

  • Brett Gardner has worn #11 for his entire Yankees career.  To date, Gardner has played in 1,358 games as a Yankee over 11 seasons.  The 2019 season will be Gardner's 12th season wearing #11.  This will give him the most seasons as a Yankee wearing #11. Lefty Gomez wore #11 for 11 years.

  • Brett Gardner is already the All-Time Yankees Leader in Games Played While Wearing #11.  Hector Lopez played in 864 games over 8 seasons while wearing #11.  Fred Stanley played in 521 games, also over 8 seasons in New York.

  • Hall-of-Famers Herb Pennock (1929), Waite Hoyt (1930), and Lefty Gomez (1932-42) all wore #11 as a Yankee.  They were all pitchers.

  • Ownie Carroll (also a pitcher) came to the Yankees in 1930 (along with Harry Rice and Yats Wuestling) in a trade with the Detroit Tigers for Waite Hoyt and Mark Koenig.  He then wore Hoyt's #11.  Carroll pitched in only ten games as a Yankee.  He was sold to the Cincinnati Reds later that same season.

  • Great Yankees relief ace, Joe Page, wore #11 for most of his Yankees career, from 1945 to 1950.  Page wore #16 during his 1944 rookie season.

  • Johnny Sain, famous for his years with the Boston Braves ("Spahn and Sain and pray for rain"), became a Yankee late in his career from 1951 to 1955.  He pitched in 130 games as a Yankee always wearing #11.

  • Dwight Gooden was wearing #11 when he pitched his no-hitter during the 1996 season.

  • Curtis Pride, who played in the Major Leagues for eleven seasons, wore #11 when he played for the Yankees in 2003.  Pride only played in four games as a Yankee.  Pride was one of the few deaf players to play Major League Baseball.  

  • Gary Sheffield wore #11 during his three years in the Bronx.

From baseball-reference.com, the following are all of the #11's in Yankees history:

Brett Gardner (2008-2018)

Morgan Ensberg (2008)

Doug Mientkiewicz (2007)

Gary Sheffield (2004-2006)

Erick Almonte (2003)

David Dellucci (2003)

Curtis Pride (2003)

Chris Widger (2002)

Chuck Knoblauch (1998-2001)

Dwight Gooden (1996-1997)

Rick Cerone (1990)

Don Slaught (1988-1989)

Lenn Sakata (1987)

Gary Roenicke (1986)

Billy Sample (1985)

Toby Harrah (1984)

Fred Stanley (1973-1980)

Sandy Alomar (1974)

Bernie Allen (1972-1973)

Danny Walton (1971)

Bill Robinson (1967-1969)

Hector Lopez (1959-1966)

Jerry Lumpe (1956-1959)

Johnny Sain (1951-1955)

Joe Page (1945-1950)

Bob Collins (1944)

Tommy Byrne (1943)

Lefty Gomez (1932-1942)

Ownie Carroll (1930)

Waite Hoyt (1930)

Herb Pennock (1929)